About Me

Hello, I am Kevin Forster.  I enjoy playing soccer, coaching, tubing, seeing people succeed, and finding what gives their life real value.  I am pursuing a degree in Secondary Mathematics Education at Grand Valley and I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology that serves as my teachable minor.  I plan to teach Mathematics at the High School level someday, but this Fall I am excited to be assistant teaching at a Charter school in Holland!

To help you get to know a few facts about me, pick out the lie in these three statements…

Calamari

Calamari- Baby squid

I have traveled to the Netherlands and Guatemala.

I enjoy eating calamari.

I have saved two penalty kicks in a soccer game before.

penalty kick save

Penalty Kick Save

Comment at the bottom which you think is the lie!

I have recently began a new course at Grand Valley called Educational Technology in Education and I must admit that I do not have a vast amount of experience incorporating technology into a lesson plan.  I have worked with the hour of code, and designed a lesson based on a video about exponential powers of 10, but that is really the extent of my experience in planning to use educational technology.  Also, I have been able to practice using a smart board beneficially at the middle school level for a speed dating game to teach about inequalities.

1656020_10203496933331852_936639581_n

Picture of my girlfriend Moriah and I

The picture above displays my girlfriend of 18 months Moriah.  She is very dear to me and my best friend.

One school I have thoroughly enjoyed working at was Creekside Middle School in Zeeland.  I did some observations of Tara Maynard a leader in the #MichED community at the eighth grade algebra and geometry levels.  I benefited greatly from seeing how a flipped classroom operates and learning lots about classroom management!

Overall, I have an exciting summer ahead!  I am currently taking a mathematical modeling course alongside my educational technology class.  I am excited to report more of my experiences in the days and months to come!

2 comments

  1. I’m going to guess that the countries are the lie (you’ve been to several countries and one of them is correct but the other is not). Then again, I don’t know too many people who think calamari is their FAVORITE food (i.e., I like calamari, but it’s not my must-have food).

    Like

    1. Hey Jason, the truth is actually that I have been to Guatemala and the Netherlands. The lie is that calamari is my favorite food because I cannot stand calamari because I had an awful first experience with it at a Chinese buffet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

